• social-meida
  • social-meida

(02) 4396 5811

Key Street, Toukley NSW 2263

2014 Men’s Matchplay Championships  /  by Jenny Davidson | Dec 19, 2014 | Uncategorized

The 2014 Men’s Matchplay Championships were just completed with great weather and a pristine golf course being the order of the day. The top eight available scratch players in each grade from the singles championships qualified for the first round. A grade saw Dave Willett as the top seed joined in the playoffs by Brad Rogers, Clint Donsworth, Eddie Kirkland, James Denniss, Dave McMurray, Kenton Boyd and Brian Leonard. Mick Mayne was the top seed for B Grade joined in the playoffs by Mark Wilson, Ross McIlwraith, Matt Cameron, Allan Harris, Rob Christie, Todd Cowie and Allan Ferguson. In C grade, the top seed Blake Hayhow played off with Stewart McMahon, Howard McElnea, Allan Andrews, Gary Brown, Keegan Phillips, John Jamieson and Bruce Jamieson.


The seedings proved fairly accurate in A and B grade. Number one seed, Dave Willett added to his stroke play title by beating number two seed, Kenton Boyd 2 up in a hard fought A grade final. Mick Mayne also completed the big double by defeating Todd Cowie in the B Grade matchplay final. In C grade number four seed Howard McElnea had to survive one extra hole to win the championship over a brave John Jamieson.


Congratulations to all the players involved in the series as everyone showed tremendous sportsmanship and exemplified the true spirit of the game.